It is by invitation only, and those that have requested an invitation will receive an email today with instruction on how to log in.
I highly recommend going through the What's New section of the tutorial (login required) to see what has changed.
What does Alpha actually mean?
It means that it's a work in progress, and there may be bugs and prolonged periods of unavailability. I'll do my best to minimize them. But it's not that bad: Gigantt's servers are virtualized over Amazon's Cloud and use highly reliable storage. They're also backed up entirely every hour, so you can rest easy that data-loss is unlikely. In addition, all communication is encrypted and no passwords are stored (only hashes).
- Still no time estimates and resource allocation. Coming soon.
- Still no auto-save, so do Ctrl+S from time to time.
- Still no collaboration, so only one person can edit a plan, and if you save from multiple browsers simultaneously you may overwrite your changes, so watch out.
- Still no easy way to connect remote items. But this, too, will be added very soon.
Other than that, it's a dream for personal management. If you don't agree, there's a feedback button inside - use it.
I plan to release a minor version in a week or so that will address any issues found by alpha users. This release shall also include a crude implementation of time estimates and creating remote connections (i.e. between items not in the same container), just to make it a bit more usable for small teams.